Recap: CDVG Meeting of Aug. 29, 2012

UPDATE: Links to presentations from our meeting on 8/29.

 

Thank you to everyone that turned out last evening for our CDVG meeting. Special thanks to

  • Dean Malmgren for spending an hour discussing many of projects he and his partners (Mike Stringer & Aaron Wolf) at Datascope Analytics have delivered. I think these guys like nothing better than a wrangling a massive and messy network of data and discovering insights. You can read more about the Proctor & Gamble project on the Datascope Analytics site.
  • Matej Mavricek of Power Switch for sharing the challenge he has in visualizing the US Electric Grid. I think this is an interesting problem with insights yet to be discovered. The resulting visualizations might be an interesting combination of network diagrams and maps. He is willing to meet with anyone interested in this topic. He can be reached at mmavricek@pwrswitch.org and by phone at (312) 344-1404.
  • Everyone that asked questions and approached me after the meeting. I enjoyed speaking with each of you and I’m sorry that I didn’t get to spend more time.
  • Technexus and Taylor Kinsella for hosting.
 A few things I mentioned during the meeting…
  • Our weekly learning and hack nights starting October 1 at 1871. Read more about this here.
  • Brian Ringley, CDVG member and a Solution Architect with Slalom Consulting, is representing all Microsoft visualization technologies: Excel, Powerpivot, and Powerview. We are scheduling a future presentation with him but he is open to receiving questions now from any members that have interests in these tools.
  • Open City. This group is a great example of what can be done with open access to government data and open source tools. You can support what they do by taking a look at their apps. You can also participate in the weekly Open Government Hack Nights they host.
  • Chicago Tableau User Group meetup on October 2. This group is organized by  Rina Bongsu-Petersen. I hear that these have been great meetups in the past. I’ll be going and I hope to see you there.
  • Books that I forgot to give away. They are Designing Data Visualizations by Noah Llinsky & Julie Steele,  R Cookbook by Paul Teetor, and  Getting Started with D3 by Mike Dewar. So I know I said that I would give these to the first three people that sent me an email with a suggestion for meetings but…I’m going to change the rules a bit. Sorry. Instead, members that share a relevant visualization, article, or blog post will have their name entered in to a drawing for a book. We will draw the names at our next meeting to be scheduled for September or October. Share twice and your name is entered twice, share three times and your name is entered three times, and so on. Options for sharing include tweeting to @chicagodatavis, posting to the Chicago Data Visualization Group on LinkedIn, or posting to the CDVG website. I’ll have to grant you publishing access to the latter which I will do willingly for those wanting to contribute. Happy sharing!
  • I’m always interested in those members that want to get involved in the group. Contact me if you are interested in hosting/sponsoring a meeting, finding venues, making this boring looking website cool, etc.

Thanks again for coming last night.

Leave a Reply

